draft order

5 replies to this topic

#1 ManURedDevil

ManURedDevil

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 18 December 2018 - 08:39 PM

I've been running a couple leagues on MFL since 2001.

They're both dynasty leagues where we keep a portion of our players while the remaining players go back into the draft.

Each year, our draft order is set by the previous year's results; however, in both leagues we use a lottery to determine the draft order of the first round for 'lottery eligible' teams.

We've used a number of different processes for the lottery including: pulling paper from a hat, using an excel spreadsheet algorithm, using draftpicklottery.com.

Each have their own advantages, but I've always thought that a 'lottery' function on MFL would be pretty easy to create and would ensure transparency to the process for all owners.

My suggestion is for MFL to add a draft lottery function that would allow for different parameters (# of teams, weighting, etc)

Thanks in advance.

#2 habman

habman

Veteran

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,714 posts

• 2019 MFL: 55681
  • , 18835

Posted 19 December 2018 - 01:19 AM

I scripted a draft lottery for our league.  The lottery is a weighted system that awards the top 3 draft picks to the non-playoffs teams.  In our league eight teams don't make the playoffs so the worst team gets 8 balls, 2nd worst 7 balls all the way to 1 ball for the best of the non-playoff teams.

We also have a toilet bowl for the eight teams where each win gets the winning team an extra ball in the lottery.

This is the first year we are implementing it and I think that the ball distribution is not weighted heavy enough to the worst teams so I will definitely recommend changes.

Anyway what I have scripted basically shows the probability of each team winning first, second or third overall and I have added a lottery simulator that can be ran numerous times to tabulate results.